National Finals 2012

The Scratch National Finals, kindly sponsored by the Irish Computer Society, were held in IT Tallaght on Saturday May 19th.

Thanks to the judges,

Anne Meade, Lero – the Irish Software Engineering Research Centre, University of Limerick

Brendan Smith – DERI, National University of Ireland Galway

Oisín Cawley, Lero – the Irish Software Engineering Research Centre, University of Limerick

Eithne Esmonde – National College of Ireland

Kevin Sullivan – Bridge21, Trinity College Dublin

Anne White – National Council for Curriculum and Assessment

and to IT Tallaght for hosting the competition.

Thanks to speakers Niamh Meade and Scott O’ Malley.

Scratch Competition in the press:

Photos of Scratch Finals courtesy of Gort Creative Computer Lab

Official Photos

Please ask your students to complete the Competition Feedback Form

And here are the results:

1st Prize €300: “Armageddon 2012” – Abdullah Mohammad, Carrigaline Community School, Co. Cork

2nd Prize €250: “Make an Aquarium” – Ciara Doyle, Presentation Secondary School, Co. Wexford

3rd Prize €200: “Cube world arcade”- Sean Thomas, St. Gerards, Bray, Co. Wicklow

Highly commended €75: “Bounce” – Padraig Halpin, CBS, Tramore, Co. Waterford

Highly commended €75: “CSI – Ireland” – David Clifford, Scoil Mhuire, Strokestown, Co. Roscommon

Highly commended €75: “Shape Dodge” – Jack Gaughan, Scoil Mhuire Strokestown, Co. Roscommon

Highly commended €75: “Mr Turtle” – Ferdia Keeley, Bailieborough Community School, Co. Cavan 

1st Prize €300:“Learn Spanish” – Eleana Skelly and Kate Campbell, Alexandra College Dublin

2nd Prize €250: “Coping with loss. Snowman style” – Olivia Minnock, Killina Presentation School, Tullamore, Co. Offaly 

3rd Prize €200: “Engines” – Alan Cullinane CBS Tramore, Co. Waterford

Highly Commended €75: “French Food” – Mairead Fitzmaurice, Padraig Lyons, Tom Trench, Tarbet Comprehensive School, Co. Kerry

Highly Commended €75: “Lá le Maria” – Eithne Ni Aodha Bhuí, Caoimhe Esslemont, Scoil Chuimsitheach Chairain, An Cheathru Rua, Co. na Gailimhe

1st Prize €300 : “Tadpole” Ruairi McMahon, Parteen National School, Co. Clare

2nd Prize €250: “Theseus and the Minotour” Daragh Exton, Milford National School, Co. Limerick 

3rd Prize €200: “Clouds of Chaos” Leon Fox-O’Brien, Our Lady’s B.N.S. Ballinteer, Dublin 16

Highly Commended €75: “Shoot a zepplin” Adam Callan, Kevin Lynch, Cian Hartman, St mels National School, Ardagh, Longford

1st Prize €300: “Bottlebreaker” Evin Coughlan, David Neilan, Niall Cunningham, South Galway Education Center, Gort, Co. Galway

Highly Commended €75: “Sieve of Erasothenes” Diarmuid Rock, Sarah Purcell, Rebecca O’Sullivan, South Galway Education Center, Gort, Co. Galway