The Irish Scratch National competition has been taking place in Ireland since 2010. The competition was founded by Lero in 2010. The Irish Computer Society has been running the competition since 2014 with Lero as the primary sponsor. The national finals have been taking place at the Univeristy of Limerick since 2016. Every student who submits a completed project will receive a Certificate of Participation in the National Scratch Competition, in recognition of their work and creativity. Results of previous national finals are available below.

Overall Winner 2021….

Help Our Planet, Save yourself from Creagh College School, Gorey, Co. Wexford!!

Age Category Winners

  • Junior Infants to 1st Class Winner – Boing boing from High Tech Training, Virginia, Co. Cavan
  • 2nd to 4th Class School Category Winner – WindowsXP Simulator from
    Scoil Raifteiri, Castlebar, Co. Mayo
  • 2nd to 4th Class After School Category Winner – Dot’s Adventure Outer Space! – A Platformer from Homeschool, Co. Dublin
  • 5th to 6th Class School Category Winner – Nuts Nanny from
    Scoil Mhuire GNS, Lucan, Co. Dublin
  • 5th to 6th Class After School Category Winner – Play your part, Cloghans Hill Coder Dojo, Tuam, Co. Galway
  • 1st – 3rd Year School Category Winner – Scratch: Story Mode from St. Josephs College, Lucan, Co. Dublin
  • 1st – 3rd Year After School Category Winner – Defeat the Pandemic from Homeschool, Co. Dublin
  • 4th – 6th Year Category Winner – 3D Citizen from
    Colaiste Muire, Crosshaven, Co. Cork


  • Best Animation Award – Lastreet from Le Cheile Secondary School, Tyrellstown, Co. Dublin
  • Best Technical Sophistication Award – Spaceship Battles 3 from
    Ennistymon CBS, Co. Clare
  • Best Educational Content Award – Crossy Road from Confey College, Leixlip, Co. Kildare
  • Best Social Project Award – Escape Covid from Presentation PS, Portarlington, Co. Laois
  • Highly Commended – Mysterious Escape from Bandon Coderdojo

Results from previous years

2020 Competition Results (Virtual Finals)

2019 Competition Results

2018 Competition Results

2017 Competition Results

2016 Competition Results

2015 Competition Results

2014 Competition Results

2013 Competition Results

2012 Competition Results

2011 Competition Results